This year's Teachers of the Year announced

The Professional Development Committee and the Center for Teaching Effectiveness proudly present the Arizona Western College Faculty Recognition Teachers of the Year 2015-2016. Melody Price, adjunct professor of Speech Communications, is the part-time teacher of the year; and Monica Ketchum, professor of History, is the full-time awardee.

Honorees were presented with a Kukui Nui Lei at the AWC/NAU Professional Development Day, February 11, and they proudly represent AWC in both Yuma County Teacher of the Year events -- the Kick-Off Dinner on March 7 at the 3C Schoening Center and the Teacher of the Year Banquet on April 9 at the Yuma Civic Center.

Ketchum will also choose the Presidential Teacher of the Year Scholarship.
"My teaching philosophy is creating a classroom atmosphere where students are encouraged and motivated to succeed," said Price. "Their experiences, whether positive or negative, have had a part in creating the unique individuals that they are."

"Melody is the leader of the class, but she steps back to let the students shine," said Donna Taylor, Co-Chair of the Communications Division. "The students walk away with what was learned firmly cemented."

"The development of my teaching philosophy stems directly from my desire to promote equality and social justice while validating diverse perspectives," said Ketchum. "Regardless of why they take one of my courses, I strive to connect with each of my students and promote meaningful learning experiences."

"As a student, I found Monica's teaching style to be engaging, collaborative and innovative," said Lori Stofft, dean of AWC Marketing & Public Relations. "It was a joy to walk through the history of Mexico with her and the rest of the class."

Congratulations to our most talented teachers of the year!

Share this article