Congratulations to our NISOD Excellence Faculty

2017 NISOD Winners

Dr. Linda Elliott-Nelson, vice president for Learning Services, asks that we join her in recognition of the excellence in our faculty instruction here at Arizona Western College and congratulate the faculty who have been honored by their peers through the NISOD Excellence Faculty Recognition Program.

AWC recognizes excellence in teaching at the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) Annual International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence Banquet. One full-time continuing or probationary faculty member is honored annually from each academic division – Business and Computer Information Services, Career Technology, Communications, Fine Arts, Mathematics, Modern Languages, Science and Social Sciences.

The Center for Teaching Effectiveness and Professional Development Committee identify three criteria for the program – Excellence in Teaching, Commitment to Students and Demonstrated Collegial Support within the Division.

In October, full-time faculty participated in an election within their respective Divisions for NISOD Excellence Division Faculty, and honorees were announced at the Spring Start-up All-Faculty Meeting on Jan. 13. NISOD Excellence Faculty will represent AWC at the NISOD Annual International Conference in Austin, Tex., in May.

Please join in celebrating excellence at AWC (listed by academic division): 

  • Business and CIS – Kristine Duke, Accounting
  • Career and Technical Education – Fabiana Bowles, Nursing
  • Communications – Sonja Greiner, English
  • Fine Arts – Ann Wilkinson, Theater
  • Mathematics – Daniel Russow, Math
  • Modern Languages – Jennie Buoy, ESL
  • Sciences – Theresa Dehne, Biology
  • Social Sciences – Joseph Vielbig, Sociology

Photo: This year's NISOD winners accompanaied by their couterparts from last year, attended by CTE Didrector Liz Renaud (lower right).

Photo by Craig Fry

Share this article